I'm Going Gluten-Free

I’m Going Gluten-Free

I’m Going Gluten-Free

Gluten-free is no longer a fad.  More people are becoming aware of the damage that gluten can cause to the gut and the correlation between physical symptoms and gluten intolerance or celiac disease.  Many people are also finding that they just feel better when they don’t eat gluten.  I’m certainly one of them.  Avoiding gluten goes far beyond not eating wheat.  There is gluten in many other grains as well as varieties of wheat that often go by other names.

This can be confusing!  For someone who is trying to avoid gluten, it is important to be aware of all of the grains that contain gluten as well as the many places that gluten can hide and the code names manufacturers often give it.

Did you know that at restaurants french fries often contain gluten? What about soy sauce and mustard and other condiments? Even your “healthy” supplements can contain gluten!  Or my personal favorite… the part of the envelope that you lick, yuck!

It is super important to scour the labels of packaged items and always look for “certified gluten-free”, especially if there are any questionable ingredients listed.  If you are curious in learning more about products that gluten hides in and some of the other names that are often used as code for gluten (like yeast extract, MSG, natural flavors, etc.), I highly recommend that you check out the references that I list at the end of this post.

To help you remember all of the grains to look out for when avoiding gluten, the Singing Nutrition Coach has another song & video for you! Check it out and subscribe to my YouTube channel so you never miss a video!

Know the Grains that contain Gluten:

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley (also called Malt)
  • Brewer’s Yeast
  • Bulgar
  • Couscous
  • Triticale

Wheat varieties and derivatives:

  • Durum
  • Wheat germ
  • Einkorn wheat
  • Emmer
  • Farro
  • Farina*
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut matzo
  • Oats**

*by definition, the Latin word farina simply means “meal” or “flour”.  It is used in today’s language to designate the way that the grain was milled.  However, commercially it appears most often as a wheat farina. Make sure to read the label carefully when you see farina, and when in doubt, better to assume it is wheat and avoid.

**with Oats, it is important to look for “certified gluten-free”.  Otherwise, it is possible that the oats may contain trace amounts of gluten due to cross-contamination.

… Say Bye to Gluten!

Please let me know if you have any questions or comments, I love hearing from you! Spread the Love and Share this with someone!


Check out the other Singing Nutrition Coach videos! 

Curious about all the sneaky names that are code for sugar?


Want to learn more about how to read labels when shopping for Real Foods? Transformational Nutrition Coaching could help!

Book a FREE Discovery Session with me today! I would love to share my Real Food grocery shopping tips to help you steer clear of gluten and transition to a Real Food lifestyle!


References:  David Perlmutter M.D., Celiac Disease Foundation, Gluten Free Society

Disclaimer: The information within this blog post and video are not to be considered a substitution for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. 


Get more Nutrition & Wellness tips!

* indicates required


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *